Thiruvabharanam procession

The Travancore Devaswom Board has made elaborate arrangements for the Thiruvabharanam procession from Pandalam to Sabarimala for the Makaravilakku festival on Friday.
The Pandalam Palace Managing Committee (PPMC) will hand over the Thiruvabharanam to TDB authorities at 4 a.m. today. The sacred jewellery will be taken to the adjoining Valiyakoickal Sastha Temple and kept there for the devotees to have darshan till 12.15 p.m.

The Thiruvabharanam, ceremonial flag and puja materials will be kept in three wooden boxes. The temple priest will perform ‘aarathy’ on the three wooden boxes. The sacred jewellery will be taken to Sabarimala in a ceremonial procession at 1 p.m.

Eldest member of the Pandalam royal family Ramavarma will hand over the ceremonial sword to the royal representative, P.R. Raghava Varma Raja of the Kaippuzha Panthaplavil palace, who will escort this year’s Thiruvabharanam procession.

At Ullannur Sree Bhadra Devi temple, the procession will be given a traditional reception. After leaving Ullannur temple, the procession will be accorded receptions at Kuriyanappally, Aranmula, Punnamthottam and Vazhakunnam before the first night’s halt at Ayroor Puthiyakavu Devi temple.
On the second day, after leaving Ayroor the procession will touch Idappavoor, Vadasserikara, Madamon and arrive at Perunadu Sree Dharam Sastha temple for noon rest. Before the second day’s halt at Laha Forest Inspection Bunglow at 9 p m, the procession will pass through Koonamkara and Chemmannu.
On the concluding day on January 14, the procession will be accorded receptions at Plappally, Nilackal, Attathode, Cheriyanavattom before the noon break at Valiyanavattom at 1 p m. After Pampasadya, the procession will leave Valiyanavattom for Sabarimala at 3 p m.

At Saramkuthi, the procession will be given a traditional reception led by Sabarimala Devaswom executive officer V S Jayakumar at 5.30 p m. The Thiruvabharanam procession will reach Sopanam at 6.15 p m where it will be received by Devaswom Minister Kadannappally Ramachandran, Travancore Devaswom Board president M Rajagopalan Nair, members V Sasi and K Sicily, Special Commissioner M Rajendran Nair and Devaswom Commissioner N Vasu.

The Thiruvabharanam will be later received by Thantri Kandarau Rajivaru and Melsanthi Sasi Nampoothiri in front of the Sreekovil. Deeparadhana will be conducted after adorning the attire on the idol of Lord Ayyappa at 7 p m.


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *